Adams County Clerk’s office a limited DMV Service Station. We only do plate renewals on cars, vans, and trucks up to 8,000 lbs gross weight. Please bring your renewal notice or your plate number when coming in. We have a $10.00 counter fee for this service.
If a vehicle has been out of operation and the plates have expired, a non-operation statement (MV2111) must be completed and included with the appropriate fees. This type of renewal can be made through the mail or taken to a full service DMV station. If the vehicle has not been out of operation and the plates have expired, you must pay a full year’s registration fee, and a $10.00 late fee. New plates will not be issued. The current plates on the vehicle will be renewed.
Plates expired more than 5 business days incur a $10.00 late fee.
- All renewal fees are payable to the Adams County Clerk’s Office.
Wisconsin law requires buyers of cars and small trucks (8,000 lbs or less) to display a permanent or temporary plate within two business days of purchase. Driving without plates subjects you to a maximum fine of $200.00.
A Wisconsin Dealer or financial institution involved in the sale will provide temporary plates.
Temporary plates issued to Wisconsin residents are valid for 90 days.
Out of state residents purchasing a vehicle in Wisconsin may obtain a temporary plate valid for 30 days.
Vehicle registration fees are payable to Registration Fee Trust.
We issue Temporary plates. There is an additional separate $5.00 counter fee payable to the Adams County Clerk’s Office.
All other registrations can be mailed to the DMV at:
- Regular Service: WI Dept. of Transportation, P.O. Box 7949, Madison, WI 53707-7949.
- Priority Service: WI Dept. of Transportation, P.O. Box 7306, Madison, WI 53707-7306
Or you may go to a full service DMV Station.
Full Service DMV Stations are located at the following places:
- Stevens Point, 1001 Maple Bluff Rd, Suite 2
- Madison East, 2001 Bartillon Dr
- Madison West, 4802 Sheboygan Av
- Madison Express, Westgate Mall, Whitney Way at Odana